Institute for Strategy, Technology and Organization (ISTO)
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

History

Defining moments in the history of ISTO!

In the last 15 years ISTO reached many milestones and accomplishments. We want to take a look at the history of ISTO to see its earned successes, team members and turning points.

If you want to learn more about ISTO's foundation, its first steps in teaching and research, its hosted conferences and its team members through the years, have a closer look at the history of ISTO here. 

A few Highlights through the years..

2006: Foundation of ICE

The beginning of the Institute for Communication Economics (ICE). It was founded as an endowed chair of the Deutsche Telekom Foundation, with Prof. Kretschmer as the inaugural head of the institute. The institute focused on studying the economic principles of communication and network markets and their impact on firm competition. From the start, ISTO has positioned itself as a central hub in this field topic, with top-class research, a strong network of fellow international scholars, and comprehensive training of junior researchers.

2010: Renaming ICE into ISTO

In fall 2010, the Institute for Communication Economics was renamed to the 'Institute for Strategy, Technology and Organization' (ISTO). The motivation for this name change was that the institute's research focus has evolved from analyzing the economics of communication technologies into the broader sphere of strategic management, technology, and organization. Therefore, the new name better reflects the institute's change in research focus. ISTO now conducts research on platform markets and network industries, competitive dynamics within this context, and the intersection between firm strategy and organizational design more generally.

2014: Co-founding the Organizations Research Group (ORG)

The Organizations Research Group (ORG) was launched in early 2014 under the leadership of Prof. Kretschmer, Prof. Florian Englmaier, and Prof. Ingo Weller. The research group involves researchers at different levels and master students from the Business Administration and Economics faculties at LMUMunich. ORG researchers aim to study and quantify the interaction between a firm's productivity and organizational structure. The main goal is to establish LMU, particularly ORG, as a center of excellence for organizational research in the long term. The first official ORG event was the inaugural wORGshop in 2014. Today, ORG regularly organizes an open research seminar (ORG Seminar) to facilitate the scientific interaction between professors, postdocs, and Ph.D. students of LMU Munich and national and international visiting scholars about current research questions on organizations. 

2016: First Munich Summer Institute (MSI)

The Munich Summer Institute (MSI)is an annual conference that brings together an international and cross-disciplinary research community to stimulate intensive and informed discussions on leading research around innovation. The first of the annual conferences took place on the historic premises of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities from 20th to 22nd, June 2016. MSI 2016 was hosted by the ISTO, the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition, and the Center for Law and Economics of ETH Zurich. The participants experienced three inspiring days of vivid discussions with an entertaining social program. With the Munich Summer Institute 2016 considered a great success, the organizers agreed to make this an annual feature.

2021: 15 years of ISTO

ISTO is now in the midst of his teenage years. Since its foundation, more than 50 people have worked at ISTO, thousands of students have participated in the institute's courses, and many research projects have been conducted at ISTO. Moreover, by making significant contributions to the international research community and publishing its research in numerous top-tier journals, the institute became a prominent place for quantitative research related to platform markets, dynamic competition, and organizational design.In 2021, ISTO celebrates past success with its current team members, alumni, and friends. Therefore, a website has been created as an attempt to document the milestones of the institute. Further, ISTO had invited all its companions to an anniversary celebration at LMU in November, which unfortunately fell victim to Covid.Looking into the past is a reflection of what is yet to come. Therefore, we are looking forward to the next 15 years.

Institut für Strategie, Technologie und Organisation (ISTO)
print

Links und Funktionen
Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

History

Wegweisende Momente in der Geschichte des ISTO!

In den letzten 15 Jahren hat das ISTO viele Meilensteine und Errungenschaften erreicht. Wir wollen einen Blick auf die Geschichte des ISTO werfen, um seine Erfolge, Teammitglieder und Wendepunkte zu sehen.

Wenn Sie mehr über die Gründung des Institut für Strategie, Technologie und Organisation, die ersten Schritte in Lehre und Forschung, die veranstalteten Konferenzen und die Teammitglieder im Laufe der Jahre erfahren möchten, werfen Sie hier einen genaueren Blick auf die Geschichte

Einige Highlights im Laufe der Jahre...

2006: Gründung von ICE

Der Beginn des Institute for Communication Economics (ICE). Es wurde als Stiftungsprofessur der Deutschen Telekom Stiftung gegründet, mit Professor Kretschmer als Gründungsdirektor des Instituts. Das Institut konzentrierte sich auf die Erforschung der ökonomischen Grundlagen von Kommunikations- und Netzmärkten und deren Auswirkungen auf den Unternehmenswettbewerb. Von Anfang an hat sich das ISTO als zentrale Drehscheibe in diesem Themenfeld positioniert, mit hochkarätiger Forschung, einem starken Netzwerk von internationalen Kollegen und einer umfassenden Ausbildung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses.

2010: Umbenennung von ICE in ISTO

Im Herbst 2010 wurde das Institute for Communication Economics in "Institut für Strategie, Technologie und Organisation" (ISTO) umbenannt. Die Motivation für diese Namensänderung war, dass sich der Forschungsschwerpunkt des Instituts von der Analyse der Ökonomie der Kommunikationstechnologien in den breiteren Bereich des strategischen Managements, der Technologie und der Organisation entwickelt hat. Daher spiegelt der neue Name den veränderten Forschungsschwerpunkt des Instituts besser wider. Das ISTO erforscht nun Plattformmärkte und Netzwerkindustrien, die Wettbewerbsdynamik in diesem Kontext und die Überschneidung zwischen Unternehmensstrategie und Organisationsdesign im Allgemeinen.

2014: Mitbegründung der Organizations Research Group (ORG)

Die Organizations Research Group (ORG) wurde Anfang 2014 unter der Leitung von Prof. Kretschmer, Prof. Florian Englmaier und Prof. Ingo Weller gegründet. Die Forschungsgruppe umfasst Forscher auf verschiedenen Ebenen und Masterstudenten der Fakultäten für Betriebs- und Volkswirtschaftslehre an der LMU Munich. Die ORG-Forscher wollen die Wechselwirkung zwischen der Produktivität eines Unternehmens und der Organisationsstruktur untersuchen und quantifizieren. Das Hauptziel ist es, die LMU und insbesondere ORG langfristig als Kompetenzzentrum für Organisationsforschung zu etablieren. Die erste offizielle ORG-Veranstaltung war der erste wORGshop im Jahr 2014. Heute organisiert das ORG regelmäßig ein offenes Forschungsseminar (ORG Seminar), um den wissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen Professoren, Postdocs und Doktoranden der LMU München und nationalen und internationalen Gastwissenschaftlern zu aktuellen Forschungsfragen zu Organisationen zu ermöglichen.

2016: Erstes Munich Summer Institute (MSI)

Das Munich Summer Institute (MSI) ist eine jährlich stattfindende Konferenz, die eine internationale und interdisziplinäre Forschungsgemeinschaft zusammenbringt, um intensive und sachkundige Diskussionen über führende Forschung zum Thema Innovation anzuregen. Die erste der jährlichen Konferenzen fand vom 20. bis 22. Juni 2016 in den historischen Räumlichkeiten der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften statt. Gastgeber der MSI 2016 waren das ISTO, das Max-Planck-Institut für Innovation und Wettbewerb sowie das Centre for Law and Economics der ETH Zürich. Die Teilnehmenden erlebten drei anregende Tage mit lebhaften Diskussionen und einem unterhaltsamen Rahmenprogramm. Nachdem das Munich Summer Institute 2016 als großer Erfolg gewertet wurde, beschlossen die Organisatoren, diese Veranstaltung künftig jährlich durchzuführen.

2021: 15 Jahre ISTO

ISTO befindet sich nun in seinen Jugendjahren. Seit der Gründung haben mehr als 50 Personen am ISTO gearbeitet, Tausende von Studierenden haben an den Kursen des Instituts teilgenommen, und viele Forschungsprojekte wurden am ISTO durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus leistete das Institut bedeutende Beiträge zur internationalen Forschungsgemeinschaft und veröffentlichte seine Forschungsergebnisse in zahlreichen hochrangigen Fachzeitschriften und wurde so zu einem herausragenden Ort für quantitative Forschung im Bereich der Plattformmärkte, des dynamischen Wettbewerbs und der Organisationsgestaltung. 2021 feiert das ISTO gemeinsam mit seinen aktuellen Teammitgliedern, Alumni und Freunden die vergangenen Erfolge. Zu diesem Zweck wurde eine Website eingerichtet, um die Meilensteine des Instituts zu dokumentieren. Darüber hinaus hatte das ISTO alle Wegbegleiter zu einer Jubiläumsfeier im November an die LMU eingeladen, die leider dem Covid zum Opfer fiel. Der Blick in die Vergangenheit ist ein Spiegelbild dessen, was noch kommen wird. Deshalb freuen wir uns auf die nächsten 15 Jahre.