Institut für Strategie, Technologie und Organisation (ISTO)
print

Links und Funktionen
Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Competition & Strategy

Archive StampAdvanced Seminar Strategy and Organization in Technology Markets

General Business Administration

Virgilio Failla, Ph.D.

Course Overview

This course focuses on an applied analysis of competition. Important concepts from industrial organization, game theory, product life-cycle analysis, and industry evolution are discussed. Additionally, important characteristics of network industries such as network effects and standard setting are considered. The concept of competition used in this course is interpreted broadly and also encompasses the analysis of strategic cooperation between firms.

Course Structure

The course will be taught as a combination of problem analysis using theoretical or empirical methods, and industry studies.
The goal of the course is to provide students with methodological frameworks for analyzing a broad range of competitive situations. It will help students prepare for future roles in management and consulting.

Organization

General

  • The course is taught in English
  • The course will take place from 27.5.2015 till 1.7.2015 with two weekly sessions.
Lecture Wednesday, 27.5.2015, 10:00 - 12:00, B 101, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Tuesday, 2.6.2015, 8:00 - 10:00, A 240, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Wednesday, 3.6.2015, 10:00 - 12:00, B 101, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Tuesday, 9.6.2015, 8:00 - 10:00, A 240, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Wednesday, 10.6.2015, 10:00 - 12:00, B 101, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Tuesday, 16.6.2015, 8:00 - 10:00, A 240, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Wednesday, 17.6.2015, 10:00 - 12:00, B 101, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Tuesday, 23.6.2015, 8:00 - 10:00, A 240, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Wednesday, 24.6.2015, 10:00 - 12:00, B 101, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Tuesday, 30.6.2015, 8:00 - 10:00, A 240, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Wednesday, 1.7.2015, 10:00 - 12:00, B 101, Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1
Credits 3 ECTS in module V (PO 06) or P13 (PO 08)
Examination 60 min. closed book exam (Date: Monday, 20.7.2015, 11:30 - 12:30)