Institut für Strategie, Technologie und Organisation (ISTO)
print

Links und Funktionen
Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Competitive Strategy

Archive StampSpecialization Innovation

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Grohsjean, Prof. Dr. Jörg Claussen

Course Overview

The course provides answers to the question of how firms create and sustain a competitive advantage and has a special emphasis on innovation. The lecture introduces students to the most important, strategy related theories and literatures, from the resource-based view over search to network theory. The theoretical concepts will be tied back to real life examples especially from technology-intensive industries. While we focus in the lectures mainly on theoretical concepts, students will work on case studies in the tutorials.

Course Structure

The course divides into a lecture and a subsequent tutorial. Both parts are required to successfully pass the exam. The exam is comprised by 60 minutes questions on the lecture and 60 minutes case study.

Organization

General The course is taught in English
Lecture Combined Lecture and Tutorial. The lecture and tutorial are blocked and 90min lecture are followed by 90min tutorial
Time

Tue, 10.05.2016, 9:00-12:00
Thu, 12.05.2016, 9:00-12:00
Tue, 24.05.2016, 9:00-12:00
Tue, 31.05.2016, 9:00-12:00
Thu, 02.06.2016, 9:00-12:00
Tue, 07.06.2016, 9:00-12:00
Tue, 14.06.2016, 9:00-12:00
Thu, 16.06.2016, 9:00-12:00
Thu, 23.06.2016, 9:00-12:00
Tue, 28.06.2016, 9:00-12:00

Location Tuesdays: Geschw.-Scholl-Pl. 1, Room A 014
Thursdays: Schillerstr. 44, Room K 318
Credits 6 ECTS in WP-4 (Innovation & Information)
Examination 120 minutes closed book exam (Date: 12.07.2016, 9:00-12:00, Nußbaumstr. 26, Pharma-Hörsaal)