Institut für Strategie, Technologie und Organisation (ISTO)
print

Links und Funktionen
Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Strategy & Innovation (ehemals Competitive Strategy)

Specialization Innovation

Prof. Dr. Jörg ClaussenStephan Böhmer-Horländer

Course Overview

The course was formerly called “Competitive Strategy”. This course provides answers to the question of how firms create and sustain a competitive advantage and has a special emphasis on innovation. The lecture introduces students to the most important, strategy related theories and literatures, from the resource-based view over search to network theory. The theoretical concepts will be tied back to real life examples especially from technology-intensive industries. While we focus in the lectures mainly on theoretical concepts, students will work on case studies in the tutorials.

Course Structure

The course divides into a lecture and a subsequent tutorial. Both parts are required to successfully pass the exam. The exam is comprised by 60 minutes questions on the lecture and 60 minutes case study.

Organization

General The course is taught in English
Lecture/Tutorial

Each 4-hour block consists of a lecture and a tutorial session.

Location: Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1, Room M110
Tuesdays, 08:00 – 12:00, starting on 23.04.2019
Thursdays, 14:00 – 18:00, starting on 25.04.2019

Dates:
Tuesday, 23.04.2019
Thursday, 25.04.2019
Tuesday, 30.04.2019
Thursday, 02.05.2019
Thursday, 09.05.2019
Tuesday, 14.05.2019
Thursday, 16.05.2019
Thursday, 23.05.2019
Tuesday, 28.05.2019
Tuesday, 04.06.2019

Credits 6 ECTS in Innovation V (PO 15) or in Innovation and Digital Business I/II/V (PO 18)
Examination

Friday, 21.06.2019, 16:00 – 20:00, GSP 1, M 116

Further Information

Stephan Böhmer-Horländer, Phone +49 (0) 89 / 2180 - 6758, s.boehmerhorlaender@lmu.de